NCAA Sports

50 winningest coaches in men’s college basketball history

In quite the off-season of college basketball news, longtime North Carolina head coach Roy Williams announced his retirement while legendary Duke head coach Mike Krzyzewski announced he will call it a career after the 2021-22 season.

Those are two of the all-time greats in college basketball history and rank nearly at the top of the all-time wins list for men’s college basketball career victories as a Division-I head coach.

Who is near them and does anyone have a chance to catch them in the next decade or two?

Here are your 50 winningest coaches in men’s college basketball history according to sports-reference:

(In case you were wondering, Mike Brey ranks 57th all-time at the conclusion of the 2020-21 season with 547 victories)

Steve Fisher
571 wins
Michigan, San Diego State

John Beilein
571 wins
Canisius, Richmond, West Virginia, Michigan

Fran Dunphy
580 wins
Penn, Temple

Bobby Cremins
586 wins
Appalachian State, Georgia Tech, College of Charleston

Kelvin Sampson
592 wins
Washington State, Oklahoma, Indiana, Houston

Tom Penders
594 wins
Tufts, Columbia, Fordham, Rhode Island, Texas, George Washington, Houston

John Thompson
596 wins

Tom Davis
597 wins
Lafayette, Boston College, Sanford, Iowa, Drake

Slats Gill
599 wins
Oregon State

Leonard Hamilton
600 wins
Oklahoma State, Miami (FL), Florida State

Bob McKillop
607 wins

Billy Tubbs
609 wins
Lamar, Oklahoma, TCU

Jay Wright
612 wins
Hofstra, Villanova

Stew Morrill
620 wins
Montana, Colorado State, Utah State

Tubby Smith
631 wins
Tulsa, Georgia, Kentucky, Minnesota, Texas Tech, Memphis, High Point

Norm Stewart
634 wins
State College of Iowa, Missouri

Hugh Durham
634 wins
Florida State, Georgia, Jacksonville

Jim Larranaga
642 wins
Bowling Green, George Mason, Miami (FL)

Tom Izzo
643 wins
Michigan State

John Wooden
664 wins
Indiana State, UCLA

Gary Williams
668 wins
American, Boston College, Ohio State, Maryland

Ralph Miller
674 wins
Wichita, Iowa, Oregon State

Lon Kruger
674 wins
Texas-Pan American, Kansas State, Florida, Illinois, UNLV, Oklahoma

Denny Crum
675 wins

Mike Montgomery
676 wins
Montana, Stanford, California

Dana Altman
690 wins
Marshall, Kansas State, Creighton, Oregon

Don Haskins
719 wins
Texas Western/UTEP

Phog Allen
Baker, Kansas, Haskell

Rick Barnes
727 wins
George Mason, Providence, Clemson, Texas, Tennessee

Bill Self
729 wins
Oral Roberts, Tulsa, Illinois, Kansas

Hank Iba
752 wins
Northwest Missouri State, Colorado, Oklahoma A&M/State

E. A. Diddle
759 wins
Western Kentucky

Jerry Tarkanian
761 wins
Long Beach State, UNLV, Fresno State

Credit: Bradley Leeb-USA TODAY Sports

Lou Henson
775 wins
Hardin-Simmons, New Mexico State, Illinois

Credit: Casey Sapio-USA TODAY Sports

Lute Olson
776 wins
Long Beach State, Iowa, Arizona

Credit: Jamie Rhodes-USA TODAY Sports

Rick Pitino
782 wins
Boston, Providence, Kentucky, Louisville, Iona

Credit: Mark Zerof-USA TODAY Sports

John Calipari
784 wins
UMass, Memphis, Kentucky

 Credit: Shanna Lockwood-USA TODAY Sports

Lefty Driesell
786 wins
Davidson, Maryland, James Madison, Georgia State

Credit: Jeremy Brevard-USA TODAY Sports

Cliff Ellis
800 wins
Cumberland, South Alabama, Clemson, Auburn, Coastal Carolina

Credit: Alonzo Adams-USA TODAY Sports

Eddie Sutton
806 wins
Creighton, Arkansas, Kentucky, Oklahoma State, San Francisco

Credit: Ben Queen-USA TODAY Sports

Bob Huggins
828 wins
Akron, Cincinnati, Kansas State, West Virginia

Photo courtesy of Courier Journal

Adolph Rupp
876 wins

Credit: Jim O’Connor-USA TODAY Sports

Jim Calhoun
877 wins
Northeastern, UCONN, St. Joseph’s (CT)

Credit: Phil Sears-USA TODAY Sports

Dean Smith
879 wins
North Carolina

Courtesy: Rich Miller – Indy Star

Bob Knight
899 wins
Army, Indiana, Texas Tech

Credit: Bob Donnan-USA TODAY Sports

Roy Williams
903 wins
Kansas, North Carolina

Credit: Mark Konezny-USA TODAY Sports

Jim Boeheim
1083 wins

Credit: Rob Kinnan-USA TODAY Sports

Mike Krzywewski
1170 wins
Army, Duke

Awesome Story I need to read more

Welcome to GameDay.Blog Powered by Please register to our site, As more States become Available for Online Gambling, We will automatically upgrade your status from Subscriber to Player. Please note we are not affilliated in any way with ESPN, CBS Sports, Home depot or CitiBank GameDay Programs.